Brussels or the city of Brussels (Dutch: Stad Brussel; German: Stadt Brüssel) is a municipality in Belgium with 183,287 inhabitants3, the capital of Belgium, the seat of the French and Flemish Communities, and the seat of several European Union institutions.


The municipality has the honorary title of city. It is located in the center of the Brussels-Capital Region4 and is surrounded by other municipalities that make up this region of 19 municipalities with a population of 1,211,026 as of January 1, 2020 and the supra-municipal authority of a government and parliament. Outside the region, the Brussels periphery extends into the Flemish Region, into which the Brussels region is enclosed to form the Brussels agglomeration.